International Development Cooperation Programmes

European Union

In 2014–2020, the EU financing for developing countries will be allocated under three geographic and three thematic instruments. Geographic financial instruments are intended for the developing countries in target areas, while all the developing countries are eligible for assistance under thematic financial instruments. In 2014–2020, the bulk of assistance will be provided under geographic instruments.

Geographic instruments:

  • The European Development Fund (EDF) is the main instrument of assistance for African, Caribbean and Pacific states and overseas countries and territories. Under this instrument, assistance is provided to 79 countries.
  • The Instrument for Development Cooperation (DCI) is designed for cooperation with Latin America, Asia, Central Asia, Middle East and southern African region. It covers five thematic programmes: environmental protection, role of non-governmental actors, food availability, migration, and human and social development.
  • The European Neigbourhood Policy (ENP) is designed for cooperation with other neighbouring countries.

Thematic instruments:

  • The European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights Worldwide (EIDHR) is aimed at the protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms, supporting democracy and principles of the rule of law.
  • The Instrument Contributing to Stability and Peace (ICSP) is aimed at strengthening security in cases of crises and supporting the post-crisis transition to stability. 
  • The Instrument for Nuclear Safety Cooperation (INSC) is aimed at promoting nuclear and radiation safety and emergency preparedness.


Calls for proposals & Procurement notices:


The United Nations

The United Nations (UN) development cooperation instruments in various areas comprise various foundations, organisations and programmes:

  • United Nations Development Programme;
  • United Nations Children's Fund;
  • United Nations Environment Programme;
  • United Nations Development Fund for Women;
  • United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
  • United Nations Population Fund;
  • World Bank;
  • International Monetary Fund;
  • World Health Organization;
  • United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization;
  • International Labour Organization;
  • The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations;
  • International Maritime Organization;
  • World Meteorological Organization;
  • World Intellectual Property Organization;
  • International Telecommunication Union.

Calls for proposals & Procurement notices:


The World Bank

The World Bank (WB) group is another very important provider of financial and technical assistance to the developing countries. It is an international financial institution founded in 1944 and currently operating as one of the UN specialised agencies. It is composed of five international organisations:

  • The nternational Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), often called the World Bank, was established in 1944 together with the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The initial IBRD mission was the financing of the Restoration Programme of Western Europe that was devastated after the war. Afterwards, it changed course and began promoting economic progress in the developing countries. The IBRD supports economic development and poverty reduction programmes, provides financial and technical assistance to member countries, assists in the implementation of structural changes and restructuring of economic sectors, participates in the financing of specific projects.
  • The International Finance Corporation (IFC) was established in 1956.  This institution of the WB group was founded to complement the IBRD operations by promoting the private sector development and investment in private companies.
  • The International Development Association (IDA) was established in 1960 with the aim to encourage economic development of the poorest countries and reduce their backwardness. By helping the world’s poorest countries, the International Development Association provides interest-free credits and grants. Lithuania has launched the procedures for its membership in the International Development Association.
  • The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, which was founded in 1966, is an independent international institution for investment dispute settlement.
  • Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA) started operating in 1988. Its mission is to promote foreign investment in developing countries. The Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency insures foreign investment against non-commercial risks related to expropriation, restriction of currency operations, war, civil upheaval and helps member countries to develop a legal framework favourable for foreign direct investment.